Chocovision

Chocovision Rev X3210 Experience

Picture of User 21
Chocovision Rev X3210 Experience
by User 21 - Monday, 6 March 2006, 1:30 PM

My fellow chocolatiers...

I have been using Chocovision's X3210 for almost 5 months now in my side business making artisan chocolates. It has its great points, but it also has its weak points. Long story short, when it's working, I love it! When it's not working, I'm scrambling. I've had trouble finding comparable machines in the same price range, so there may be somethig else out there I don't know about.

Interesting point: Chocovision has a link on their website to "Ask Chocolatier Joe" for tips and questions. Apparently he and his wife are chocolatiers and have offered their expertise to Chocovision's customers. I've not had a chance to try it yet.

DESIGN:
The X3210 is essentially a stainless steel box with a large bowl nestled into the top. There is a baffle that sits across the middle of the bowl that has a scraper on one side and a temperature probe toward the bottom. Overall dimensions are roughly 18" x 18" x 10". Of the many machines I researched, in my price range, this is the design that best fits the way I work.

For the size of the machine, when running correctly and in good repair, it is quiet. (In my opinion.) I have no trouble carrying on a conversation or listening to the tv. I like the hot air heating because the air never gets hotter than about 115 degrees, no matter how long the heater is on. You can't burn the chocolate and you don't have to wait for a bulb to heat up or cool down.

The diameter of the bowl on the X3210 is just right for hand production using polycarbonate molds. I have used the machine with 2-10# of chocolate and have achieved excellent results. My maximum production during the Christmas rush averaged 125 finished pieces per hour. (Since I'm a one woman operation, I'm very pleased with that rate.)