Hilliard's System

Hilliard Little Dipper

Picture of Katharina Ortner
Hilliard Little Dipper
by Katharina Ortner - Friday, 9 September 2011, 8:28 PM

I have been using the Hilliard Little Dipper for about 4 years. I have a great affection for this little, incredibly hard working and reliable machine. It has been running almost continuously 5 to 6 days a week for all this time and has never shown the slightest sign of fatigue. I use it for all my hand dipping, literally tens of thousands of chocolates.

I have to admit it is noisy which drives me crazy but I found a solution to that problem (quite quickly, the noise was simply too much to handle on a continuous basis). When I sit down to dip my centers I make myself very comfortable, put on my good headphones, and don't even notice it makes a noise after that.

Hilliard has been a pleasure to deal with, being extremely helpful and generous. They send me, free of charge, new little scraper flaps and offered any information on how to troubleshoot and where to go (locally) to get a replacement motor if the need should arise. I always drop the machine off at a local small engine repair shop for a yearly tuneup. They clean it internally and grease the bearings, all for $70 - money well spend. It runs the way it did the very first day.